August – Transporation totals

I spent the month of August logging the kilometres that I traveled.  It was amazing to me to see how quickly using a car, or public transportation, or a plane can quickly dwarf any other distances attempted by using your own power to transport yourself.  I guess at the end of the day, it comes down to what decisions you make when it pertains to travel.
  Here are the totals for the month.  A few plane trips overshadow everything.

Total km traveled – 7951 km

  • Plane 65.8%
  • Car 25.2%
  • Public Transit 3.8%
  • Bicycle 2.5%
  • Motorcycle 2.0%
  • Feet 0.7%

Its amazing to me that I used my bicycle more than my motorcycle.  I usually used the car when I had to take someone else around or I had to pick up something not feasible with a bike or motorbike.  Now, the challenge is to use my bicycle more and more and more, and everything else less and less. 

Leave a Reply

